add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Would love to customize and then outsource the 'build' part! Can you help?

klane
  • 8 days ago

I'm an experienced recreational cyclist - mountain, road, century rides, etc. Family gaining interest too, but in COVID times, really tough to find bikes these days. I'm looking to upgrade my son and husband to better mountain bikes, but having a hard time finding many options. In addition, my 10yr old is all about customizing everything - scooter, skateboard, bikes. He'd love the idea of this. However, I have no experience in building a bike and little confidence in my ability to do so. Is it possible to 'build a bike' here and have a local bike shop build it for me by shipping the parts there? Or through your forum, find local experts that might be able to do it for a fee? Love the idea of this platform. Also, should I decide to tackle the build on my own, is there a forum here with advice should I run into a problem? Haven't seen that yet in the little digging around I did.
Thanks.

Comments

• 6 days ago
  • 1 point

Hey there! Where are you located? I'm based out of Sacramento area in CA, so of you are close I could help you with building a bike up. I have about 4 years of experience building bicycles from the frame up.

• 6 days ago
  • 1 point

Hi! Thanks for the reply. I'm actually in Chicago. Appreciate the offer though!

• 5 days ago
  • 1 point

klane,